Administration mulls expanding travel ban: reports

The Trump administration plans to expand its travel ban to include several more countries, according to multiple media reports published Friday. 

The ban, which was approved in its second form by the Supreme Court after being challenged in court, includes Iran, Syria, Libya, Venezuela, North Korea, Yemen and Somalia, but the White House is allegedly considering adding another seven countries to the list.

It’s unclear from documents reviewed by The Associated Press and BuzzFeed News what countries will be included in the new ban, though one excerpt described them as some of the “lowest performing in the world.”

The move would allegedly impact 2.5 percent of all immigrant visas issued by the Department of State.

CNN first reported in October that the administration was considering restricting travel from certain countries. The AP reported Friday that the administration was considering a full ban on some.

During his 2016 campaign, President TrumpDonald John TrumpIran says it ‘unintentionally’ shot down Ukrainian plane Puerto Rico hit with another major earthquake as aftershocks continue Trump empathizes with Queen Elizabeth II after Harry and Meghan’s royal exit MORE called for a ban on all Muslim tourists and immigrants entering country, and critics say his travel ban is just a modified version of a would-be “Muslim ban.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *