On this day in pro wrestling history (May 28): Hulk Hogan vs. Nick Bockwinkel, Bruno vs. Superstar Graham double DQ

By Brian Hoops, WrestlingObserver.com

1945 – At the Forum in Wichita, Kansas; NWA Heavyweight Champion Ede Virag beat Johnny Plummer when Plummer reportedly suffered a dislocated vertebra and was unable to continue, also Paul Nelson beat Abe Friedman and Buck Fanning beat George McCall

1963 – In Minneapolis, Minnesota; AWA Tag Team Champions Ivan Kalmikoff & Karol Kalmikoff beat Verne Gagne & Doug Gilbert via dq with Larry Hennig as special referee. Also, Don McClarty beat Stan Kowalski, Waldo Von Erich beat Guy Taylor and Tiny Mills beat Duke Hoffman.

1965 – Buddy Fuller defeated Mario Galento to win the NWA Georgia Heavyweight Title in Atlanta, Georgia; Alberto and Enrique Torres defeated Curtis Iaukea & Mr. Fujiwara for the NWA Hawaii Tag Team Title in Honolulu, Hawaii.

1966 – Crusher & Dick the Bruiser defeated Larry Hennig & Harley Race for the AWA World Tag Team Title in Minneapolis, Minnesota at the Convention Center in a 2 out of 3 falls match; Michiaki Yoshimura & Hiro Matsuda defeat Killer Karl Kox & Joe Carrolo to win the JWA All Asia Tag Team Title in Sapporo, Japan

1970 – At Memorial Hall in Kansas City, Kansas; Danny Little Bear fought Roger Kirby to a draw, Scandor Akbar defeated Bill Eskew
and Baron Von Raschke & Harley Race defeated Rufus R. Jones & Bob Ellis via DQ in three falls

1974 – Red Bastien defeated The Great Mephisto for the WCCW Texas Heavyweight Title in Dallas, Texas

1977 – Jackie Fargo defeated The Executioner to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title in Chattanooga, Tennessee; Bruno Sammartino fought WWWF World Champion Superstar Billy Graham to a double disqualification in the main event of a card in Baltimore, Maryland.

1978 – Bruiser Brody defeated Dale Valentine (Buddy Roberts) in Houston, Texas to win the WCCW Texas Heavyweight Title; Dutch Mantel defeated Don Garfield (Don Fargo) to win the NWA Mid-America Heavyweight Title in Chattanooga, Tennessee; In Houston Texas; NWA Champion Harley Race beat Wahoo McDaniel by dq; AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel went to a drew with Jose Lothario and Bruiser Brody beat Dale Valentine (Buddy Roberts).

1979 – King Curtis defeated Jimmy Garvin for the Florida version of the NWA Southern Heavyweight Title in West Palm Beach, Florida.

1980 – Rocky Brewer & George Gulas defeated Tojo Yamamoto and Gypsy Joe to win the NWA Mid-America Tag Team Title in Nashville, Tennessee

1982 – In Denver, Colorado; Hulk Hogan beat AWA Champion Nick Bockwinkel by dq when the referee caught Bockwinkel using brass knuckles and Ken Patera & Bobby Duncum beat Tito Santana & Baron Von Raschke.

1985 – Dino Bravo defeated King Tonga to win the vacant International Wrestling International Heavyweight Title in Montreal, Quebec.

1997 – The Truth Commission defeated Steven Dunn & Paul Diamond for the USWA Tag Team Title in West Helena, Arkansas; Mohammed Hussein defeated Rey Gonzalez in Gurabo, Puerto Rico to win the WWC Puerto Rico Heavyweight Title

2000 – El Hijo del Santo defeated Blue Panther to win the World Wrestling Association World Welterweight Title in Monterrey, Mexico.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *